LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

General chat that doesn't fit into other categories
Post Reply
adamfromayr
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:51 pm

LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

Post by adamfromayr » Tue May 21, 2019 7:11 pm

Hi

Does anyone know how i keep getting this, ive replaced the "encoder strip" at least 3 x times, does it have to go a particular way? think ive did it correct and ive also replaced the encoder sensor at least 2-3 times yet im always getting the error:

LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED

video here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1AInyg ... e=youtu.be
:roll:

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 3277
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

Post by Kai Perry » Wed May 22, 2019 9:35 am

It could be down to a bad contact with the cable or the print carriage board, strange that you have replaced them so many times, over what duration has this occurred.
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

adamfromayr
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

Post by adamfromayr » Wed May 22, 2019 7:44 pm

Thanks for the reply Kai :D

I have swapped the 2Print carriage board last year so think that can be ruled out, not the cables though??

i did notice on on the the sides of the cables going into the Print Carriage Board, the outer sides look a little iffy, do you think i should try and replace these cables?

I have tried several Encoder strips and sensor boards and 1 x print carriage board
  • I was wondering do you think something wrong with the Main Board? Could the main board cause this one issue?

    Do the strips have to go in a certain way?
[/b]
gsdgfbds.jpg
Image

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 3277
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

Post by Kai Perry » Thu May 23, 2019 9:31 am

I would try cables first, I'm not sure about the correct way around, but would guess that they are marked with a beginning and end point.

How about the cable to the main board from print carriage board.
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

adamfromayr
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

Post by adamfromayr » Tue May 28, 2019 7:56 pm

FIXED!!!!!!!!!!!


Hope this helps anyone else who comes across this issue when repairing anew encoder strip!

If you get the error LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED

my question to you is: Are all your limit switches open? see i have my Micro switches Taped down etc so after at least 10+ times trying this and getting this error, i find out that it works the very first time! When i open the limit switches!

hope my ache and pains helps others lol

Now my new code is: 0001 motor error he he

can i fix it?

phastsigns
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:46 pm

Re: LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

Post by phastsigns » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:11 pm

Hello... I am having the same issue...
I have replaced the encoder strip and that did not solve my issue. Where would I be looking for these limit sensors?
I haven't taped over anything but I am wondering if the sensors may be bad....
What cables would I need to replace? I am thinking of replacing the cables... I have a replacement encoder board that I am waiting for...

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 3277
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: LINEAR ENCODER SETUP FAILED VP-540 Versacamm

Post by Kai Perry » Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:06 pm

What errors are you getting?
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest