RML-1 programming

Post questions, share ideas and techniques relating to 3D prototyping and milling
Post Reply
paolo8453
Silver Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

RML-1 programming

Post by paolo8453 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:32 pm

Thought I'd better start a new thread... Think I need Richard Green on the case ;)

ok - lets forget about NC-Code altogether then.

Here's a PDF of RML-1 guidelines - http://mlab.taik.fi/paja/wp-content/upl ... Ver100.pdf

The machine is capable of moving at 100 mm/sec. In theory - could I force the machine to cut at that speed or is there an on-board limit - does it work out speeds independently no matter what I tell it to do?

Programmatically this would be defined by F ( the of the Velocity X,Y-axis). Setting this to F 100 should make the machine move at max speed 100mm/sec. In Vpanel it's actually defined as mm/min - max speed should be 6000 mm/min. It NEVER even gets close to this...


This is how Vectric output it - why they define V and F as the same speed is unclear to me as V ( Z axis) should only be in the 0-50 range.

^DF
!NR
! 1;Z 0,0,50
V 64;F 64
V 199;F 199
Z 33458,270,50
V 100;F 100
Z 33458,270,-100
.....
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

User avatar
Patrick Thorn
Gold Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Staines
Contact:

Re: RML-1 programming

Post by Patrick Thorn » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:23 pm

The Vectric RML format interpretation is using the standard established many years ago and still works on our machines today.

You are right that if you were using separate XY moves and separate Z axis moves then the V and F would correspond. However, to perform 3D moves Z is a Mode 1 command (simultaneous XYZ feed command), with this it needs all 3 axis position repeated and any one of all 3 can change. The Z command uses the V command for feedrates in mm/sec.

To cover all eventualities putting V and F covers all options, should other machines need them.

If you were cutting a shape, then the "Feed rate" in Vectric is the value to move in XY, the "Plunge rate" is the speed to move in Z. It is upto the user to use the correct speeds and feeds for each material with respect to each cutter Feeds must be in MM/Sec.

^DF
!NR
! 1; (Spindle ON)
Z 0,0,50 (this is a line in Vectric to move to the clearance height)
V 64;F 64 (This is a default text line in the post processor)
V 199;F 199 ( XY feedrate)
Z 33458,270,50 (move X 334.58, Y 2.70, Z stay at 0.5mm)
V 100;F 100 (Z Plunge rate)
Z 33458,270,-100 (XY are the same so only move Z to -1.0mm)

So back to the machine. As the moves around any shape are all linear increments, the more curved the more moves, therefore, the machine has to accelerate and decelerate and will not get to the desired federates. If the cut was a large rectangle then feeds may be achieved, within the limitations of the machine and the material being cut.

As the RML format being used is using the V command, then I would assume the Max feed is 50mm/sec if it was a EGX400, but the TS version may have been limited to a slower speed to cater for the extra Z axis/spindle assembly.

Hope that helps your understanding.
Patrick Thorn
Premier Consultant - 3D Technology
Roland DG UK Ltd

http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

paolo8453
Silver Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RML-1 programming

Post by paolo8453 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:32 pm

appreciate the quick reply, Patrick. Will digest this then get back. Makes a bit more sense now...
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

paolo8453
Silver Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RML-1 programming

Post by paolo8453 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:21 am

It's (almost) all clear now. Thanks for that.

It was the second lot of V and F values that was throwing me - I didn't realise these corresponded to Z speed. It looks like Z is limited to 30mm/sec on this machine.

As for the max V ;F ( XY feedrate) - the max value will be 100 - anything larger will just be treated as 100.



But... if V is (x,y) and F is (z) - why define V 199;F 199 in one line? Why not just use V in one line and X in another

^DF
!NR
! 1;Z 0,0,50
V 64;F 64
V 199
Z 33458,270,50
F 100
Z 33458,270,-100
.....
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

User avatar
Patrick Thorn
Gold Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Staines
Contact:

Re: RML-1 programming

Post by Patrick Thorn » Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:18 pm

Hi, well actually with the Z command you only need V and this has to change in the CAM software from a Z axis move and a XY axis move. So if you have Vectric, set to MM and "Feed rate" say 30mm/sec, the "Plunge rate" say 7mm/sec, then the RML could look like this and work perfectly:-
^DF (or some programs use ;;IN; and if does a similar thing)
!NR
! 1;
V 30;
Z 0,0,50;
Z 33458,270,50;
V 7;
Z 33458,270,-100;
V 30;
Z 0,270,-100;
V 7;
Z 0,270,-200;
V 30;
Z 33458,270,-200;
V 30;
Z 33458,270,50;
V 30;
Z 0,0,50;
^DF;

So when only the 3rd parameter of the Z command (Z xval, yval, zval) ZVALue changes and the xval, yval, does not change we use "Plunge rate" 7mm/sec, vice versa when xval, yval moves we use "Feed rate" 30mm/sec

V can be a higher value of mm/sec but the machine cannot go any faster than the max V value when processing a "Z command"

There you go..........
Patrick Thorn
Premier Consultant - 3D Technology
Roland DG UK Ltd

http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

paolo8453
Silver Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RML-1 programming

Post by paolo8453 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:08 pm

Well... It's only taken me 6 years - to the day - to get my head around this! :lol:

When using CAM software you don't really need to think about it too much - when your trying get 3rd party Gcode working on an RML-1 only machine working you really do have to think about it.

What I have realised though - you can leave out most of the code that the CAM software generates and the machine goes to default speeds. It NEVER gets to 6000mm/min (the stated speed in the manual is 100 mm/s) on fast non cutting moves so it's pointless defining that value.

Cutting/Move speed can only be defined up to 1800mm/min - that's 'V 30' out of a possible 'V 100'! What was the point in that!? The really annoying thing is that you can double that speed up to 3200 mm/min manually in Vpanel but you can't define that speed in code!!

The machine is capable of 6000mm/min movement but only on it's terms :lol:.. Sometimes, when the the cutting path goes out of bounds, the speed will ramp up to 6000mm/min and head off to the next cut.

As Patrick said 6 years ago - the only speed value that has to change is V - that's it - V! It couldn't be easier really but it's taken a while to sink in :D

I wonder if my trusty Roland will still be going strong in another 6 years?..
.
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests